Winners announced for 2015 Kansas Wheat Yield Contest

This year, Kansas Wheat is proud to announce the winners of the 6th Annual Wheat Yield Contest. This year’s top wheat yields belong to Doug Queen of Rossville, Eastern Region winner; Darren Nelson of Hutchinson, Central Region Winner and Darwin Ediger of Meade, Western Region Winner.

Doug Queen is this year’s Eastern Region winner. Queen was encouraged to enter this year’s contest by Doug Keas, last year’s Central Region and Quality Initiative winner. Queen’s winning plot was 11.94 acres planted with Armour (WestBred) and resulted in a yield of 70.3 bushels per acre.

Read more…