AHDB – New board members appointed

The Agriculture and Horticulture Development Board (AHDB) has appointed five new members to its specialist sector boards. Dr Louise Sutherland has joined its Horticulture Sector Board, Reuben Collins the Potato Sector Board; Ben Schadla-Hall and Andrew Osmond the Cereals & Oilseeds Sector Board, and Richard Soffe the Dairy Sector Board.


They were recruited through open competition with selection made on merit.  All five members began a three-year term in office effective from 1 April 2016.

These sector boards help the main AHDB Board and executive staff to prioritise the challenges facing each sector and develop the most appropriate strategies to meet them. They also ensure an appropriate levy rate is recommended to provide adequate funding for the work needed. There is a sector board for each of the six commodity areas represented by AHDB, with each board made up of levy payers from the sector and one or two independent members.

Tom Hind, Chief Strategy Officer of AHDB, said “These new members have a wealth of experience in their relevant sectors as well as a passion for the industry that is crucial to these roles. We look forward to them making a valuable contribution to the organisation.”

Andrew Osmond – AHDB Cereals & Oilseeds Sector Board

Andrew is a farmer from Hampshire and Dorset with a mixed farm of mainly arable, sheep and beef; the farm totals 1600 acres and is comprised of family farms which are owned, tenanted and contracted. He has been on the AHDB’s British Cereals Export committee since September 2010 and chairs the NIAB TAG Wessex Tech Committee, Andrew also sits on the British Association of Seed Producers’ board.

 Ben Schadla-Hall – AHDB Cereals and Oilseeds

Ben has a BSc in Agricultural Economics from the University of Reading, as well as an MSc in Development Economics from the University of London. He is currently the Operations Director for Wellgrain Ltd and previously worked for Centaur Grain and Soufflet Agriculture. Ben currently sits on the Trade Assurance Scheme for Combinable Crops (TASCC) Working Group, represents TASCC on the Red Tractor Committee and sits on the Grain and Feed Trade Association (GAFTA) Exporters Committee.

See more at: